Healthy Game Day Snacks

I’m not really much of a football fan. I don’t really even like watching all the stupidly expensive commercials, but give me an occasion to sit with a bunch of friends and have some snacks and a cold beverage and I’m in. While I was walking around the grocery store today, I took a look in the much decorated “Game Day Snacks” aisle. It was remarkably similar to the non game day snacks aisle that is usually, strangely enough, in the exact location, but the big banner and fringy tassels really made it seem like a whole new section (yes, that is sarcasm, see my thoughts on grocery store marketing here). I gathered that what we are supposed to eat on Sunday evening, and by extrapolation at every major televised sporting event is chips, canned dip, frozen pizza and a variety of kinds of chicken wings.

Don’t get me wrong. I can enjoy the flavors of some junk food. Really I can. But I can’t eat it all night without knowing it for at least a day afterward, and truth of the matter is that I don’t really want to do that anymore. I’d like some salty crunchy and some savory, some hand held sociable bites that won’t make me feel like crap. What if there were snacks you could eat with friends that were actually good for you?!

But wait… there are! Here’s our roundup of our own pantry snacks that make great game night fare. I will add that on the whole chip thing, if you are a habit buyer and have been getting some kind of chips since the beginning of time, take a look around that aisle. Near as I can figure there are approximately 3,000 different kinds of chips at the grocery store (I’m including all the cheese puffy type things in that estimate although I suppose they are technically not chips). While you’re looking around, see if you can find a chip that has VERY FEW ingredients. I know they’re out there. Potato chips really require very few ingredients, as do tortilla chips. Check out the label. If you really need some chips, know what you’re getting, get what you’re paying for, which I assume is food, not preservatives or a list of words that really only mean sugar and salt. That’s a good question to start with, actually. Do your chips have sugar in them? Some of them do… There… I’m done with my chip thing. We favor these multigrain tortilla jobbies that I get at Costco (see my Costco list here). Okay, now you’ve got chips covered; what else?

Crackers and Bread

If you don’t need chips for this to be a game, try subbing out some whole wheat crackers. Heck, you may even want to make your own crackers or bread for those awesome spreads. Maybe make some toast points instead of chips! Try these little numbers:

 

1. Gluten Free Crackers

2. No Fear Homemade Whole Wheat Bread

3. Multigrain Bread

Clearly you must have dip for your chips or crackers or bread!

Dips

 

4. Baja Hummus

5. Sweet Potato Lime Dip

6. Smoky Baba Ghanoush

Done with the mess of chips and dip and now want a handful of something yummy?

Snacks to Eat By The Scoop

7. Movie Gorp

8. Roasted Spiced Nuts

Instead of Frozen Pizza

If the kids have a hankering for pizza when it’s not our homemade pizza night, I often make them a pizza bagel on a whole wheat or sprouted grain bagel – why not make them for a crowd? If you’re looking for a non-dairy alternative to mozzarella – try this one.

 

9. Soccacia Pizzas

10. Mini sandwiches with Sunflower Cheese and cucumber or tomato slices

11. Chickpea Salad Sammies

Sweet Bites
If you simply cannot be tempted with all this savory stuff, how about a few healthier sweet treats?

12. Brownie Bites

13. Good Neighbor Chocolate Chip Cookies 

14. Nut Butter Bliss Balls

So there you go. A bevy of healthier eating options for whatever you’re doing this Sunday evening. Whatever it is, I hope you have a super time. Eat well, be well friends!

7 responses

Leave a Reply

