A raw, vegan birthday carrot cake for Little Sis

So sorry to have been away for so long!  We have moved out of our home in TN, put almost all of our belongings in storage, moved in with Sweetie Dad and Super Step-Mom and I have started the last semester of my schooling, so it’s been a little tough to post.  However, all of this allowed us to be together right around Little Sis’ birthday, so I made her a cake.  Vegan for Little Sis and GF for Mr. Bigg Sis and something a little different than the fabulous cakes she has made for my last 3 birthdays.  Yeah, I’m a little behind, but luckily Little Sis is not a bean counter and loves me despite my sloth in regards to her birthday.  So to the internet I went…..

I found a raw vegan carrot cake that sounded delicious and different, but I must say that ‘raw’ makes for an interesting ‘cake.’  Super Step-Mom watched with interest as I patted the ‘batter’ into a spring form pan and said, “Will that rise?”  To which I said, “No.”  She then asked the question of questions: “Then, how is it a cake?”  Well…. it’s round and tastes good and has icing on it.  And Little Sis will like it.  She was good with that answer and we all enjoyed this.  For more info on eating raw, I highly recommend that site where I found this cake recipe: This Rawsome Vegan Life.

I changed this up only a little, and we enjoyed it.  It was one of those things that feels good to eat on top of tasting good, and it was really not hard – although Little Sis deserves any amount of effort!!  In addition, it kept very well, so she got to have a little slice for several days.  Nice.

We hope to get back on track with posting, and certainly hope that you are all well and will feel good about eating this cake!!

Raw Carrot Cake w/ Cashew Cream Frosting

Cashew frosting:
2 cups cashews, preferably soaked for a couple hours
1-2 tablespoon lemon juice
2 tablespoons liquid coconut oil
1/3 cup maple syrup
Water, as needed

raw carrot cake lemons-001Oh I knew you were coming so I didn’t bake a cake……
I smashed a cake?……
I created a cake!

Oh I knew you were coming so I created a cake
Wack-a do a wack-a d0 a wack-a do.

Wack a do indeed!

raw carrot cake cashews-001

Cake:
2 large carrots, peeled
1 1/2 cups oat flour or buckwheat flour (I used oat flour)
1 cup dates
1 cup dried pineapple (or more dates – I used a mixture of dried fruit: pineapple, cherries and mango)
1/2 cup dried coconut (I used the sweetened kind as it was all I had)
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (I forgot this, wasn’t a problem)

To make the frosting: blend all ingredients in your high speed blender until smooth, adding as little water as possible. Taste it – mmm. Put in a bowl and set aside.

To make the cake: cut the carrots into small chunks. Then throw all the ingredients (including the carrots) in your food processor and pulse until it’s all in really small pieces and sticks together.

Assembly: Press half the cake mix into the bottom of an adjustable spring-form pan, mine was about 6 inches. Then spread on about 1/3 of the frosting. Put it in the freezer until the layer of frosting is hard. Then press on the rest of the cake mix. I let it set in the fridge overnight, then frosted the whole thing, but you can do it right away if you want. Take it out of the pan and use the remaining frosting, cover with whatever garnishes you like. Enjoy!

raw carrot cake whole-001You should check out the author’s site for her pictures, which are really lovely… but either way, eat the cake!

Happy Birthday Little Sis!

2 responses

    • Thank you Annie! You will like it 🙂 Very much enjoying your gorgeous cookbook. Ours is so close to done I can almost taste it….. well, I guess that is appropriate 😉

Leave a Reply

