Re-fried Bean Citrus Lettuce Wraps

I have never been a big fan of meat.  Our mother used to stop me at the door to make sure that I had placed some lunch meat on my sandwich for school (and not just mayonnaise).  So it’s not a big surprise that I am the one that keeps the meat consumption to a minimum in our household.

My boys are not as enthusiastic about keeping the meat consumption low.  So there are some nights when they eat meat and I do not.  They used to fulfill this need when I was working 12 hour shifts and wasn’t even home for dinner a few nights a week, but now we eat together every night, so the blending creates some confusion and ‘togetherness’ in the kitchen as all needs are met.

Recently, I didn’t plan well,…. okay at least once a week or so, I don’t plan well and needing a quick healthy protein substitute for me while the boys ate turkey, I turned to canned beans, sweet onion and a little orange juice.  I was very pleased with the results which I piled into a large leaf of romaine and ate like a burrito.  I was very pleased with the results.  The boys looked suspicious at my lack of interest in their turkey bacon.  Haha!  Their suspicions will be explained soon because I know we will have this again.  Why not?  It is fairly quick, very easy and most delicious.

Re-fried Bean Citrus Wraps

1 sweet onion
oil for sauteeing
1 tsp ground cumin
1 cup canneloni beans (or whatever cooked or canned beans you have on hand)
juice of 1 orange
salt to taste

Saute the onions in a little oil.  The longer you saute the sweeter they become… but if you’re pressed for time go until translucent
Add the rest of the ingredientsMash the beans.  I used a potato masher.
Cook down a little so it’s all smushey and the liquid has diminished.
If it gets too dry add a little more juice

20151025_184411Serve on a romaine lettuce leaf….. or on a tortilla…. or on a piece of bread….. or mixed with rice

This is a notion that works for a lot of things and saves you lots of calories.  Unless of course you serve it with potatoes roasted in oil.  Ah but they were really good as well 😉

What do you like to put in a lettuce wrap?

Leave a Reply

