Weekly Meal Plan 12/14-12/20

Things sure are heating up around here… and not just the temperature which was a balmy 70 degrees in Mid-Maryland today. Yep, 70 degrees in December. While it freaks me out in the grand scheme of things, I have to confess to having enjoyed the opportunity to be outside without a big coat and tending to some yard/garden tasks I neglected at their proper time. Strawberries now covered for the winter with leaves from the front yard. Vine that was eating the locust tree is gone. Gardening detritus left on the patio put away. Nice to finish once in a while. Some day I’ll finish the tasks when I actually do them. Maybe. 😉

As for the rapidly approaching holidays, I don’t really want to talk about it because I am totally unprepared. That is all. I meant it; I don’t want to talk about it. I’m not hostile or grumpy (which is new for me at this time of year), but I refuse to dwell on what I haven’t done yet. I’ve penciled in some time tomorrow to do some of it. That’s the new approach. Don’t dwell; just do. While I’m doing, we will be eating, at least between gatherings. So, I guess I’d better get down to planning this thing.

fa77096d-eb95-422a-8539-d6d0f985fdb4Monday: Sesame Whole Wheat Pancakes with Honeyed Oranges (clementine season is upon us!), cut veggies

Tuesday: Slow Cooker Burritos, raw veggies as burrito filling, green salad

Wednesday: Three Sisters Savory Cobbler, sautéed green beans

Thursday: Sweet and Sour Lentils, Half Raw Stir Fry

Friday: Homemade Pizza, cut veggies

Saturday: Christmas Party at my fabulous niece’s house (green salad at tea time)

Sunday: Dinner with friends

Lunchbox Treats: I’m going to start a little holiday baking and will do an extra large batch of these as they are quite popular – Crancherry, Almond, and White Chocolate Cookies

Adult Lunches: Cold Kickin’ Soup – No, we’re not sick, but I’m thinking an immunity boost is a good idea as we get a little closer to all these festivities

Yep, the cavalcade of celebration is well underway. I think I may have to go back and read my own post about health during the holidays to keep it together and keep my pants buttoning. If you’re looking for some guidance on keeping those healthy meals coming year-round, check out our book, Baby Steps to Better Health: A Guided Journey in Healthier Eating.  Hope your week is full of healthful celebration and at least a little sunshine. Eat well, be well friends.

  

2 responses

  1. We are having much warmer than usual weather here in the UK too – it’s not 70 though! What a lovely menu! I especially like the sound of the Sesame Whole Wheat Pancakes with Honeyed Oranges. What a lovely holiday breakfast! Thank you for sharing with us at the Hearth and Soul Hop.

Leave a Reply

