Buying Healthy at Costo: My Faves

The first time I went to Costco it was with a neighbor. I told her I don’t do well in large stores with lots of different kinds of things to see. “Let me guess; you freeze up?” Why yes, yes I do. She shrugged and said, “Don’t worry. John does the same thing. I’ve got practice. I’ll get you through.”

I like to think that I’ve gotten a little better at managing my scene at Costco. I no longer need a guide or sherpa. I’ve never been tempted by the vehicles or pianos (although I confess camping gear can get a little dicey). I attempt to take a list, and sometimes I even stick to it (silence in the peanut gallery please). At any rate, through all this increasingly disciplined procurement I have discovered that Costco has some remarkable deals on some healthful foods. These have become staples for me that make it easier for me to plan highly nutritious meals or to fake a planned meal with high quality ingredients. While Costco does offer a significant amount of prepared food, they also have a remarkable number of real food ingredients. If you are skeptical, or still in the frozen stage of your Costco relationship, I thought I’d share my top healthful purchases at our local Costco, so you can guide yourself through the onslaught of offers.

1) Produce  photo IMG_0510.jpg

There are a lot of good deals on produce at Costco, although many of them are packaged in ways that I just can’t stomach, so I’m going to focus on the really exceptional, and less poorly packaged, deals here. My favorite Costco discovery is the bag of Power Greens. It has several hearty greens mixed together and is perfect for adding to salads, soups, smoothies, and anything else you would normally add greens to. Don’t forget greens freeze just fine, so the size of the bag shouldn’t put you off. It’s 4.99 for a massive bag of greens that you would normally buy in little piddly amounts in a plastic box. Carrots are also an exceptional Costco score provided you use them a lot. We are carrot lovers and use our 10 lb bag in plenty of time. This bag comes with two bags inside, so it would also be easy to split with a carrot loving friend. Avocados at a dollar apiece? Yes please.

 photo 5979419c-4a0e-404b-a85d-b976cce8135e.jpg  photo IMG_0521.jpg  photo IMG_0514.jpg

Frozen produce is also a good deal with organic sweet peas going for just over a dollar a pound. Our Costco also offers frozen organic corn and mixed vegetables. You can find other great deals on dried fruit at Costco. They offer a wide variety of high quality dried fruit at lower than grocery store prices. Just check the ingredients to find the varieties that do not have added sugar. 😉

2) Nuts and Seeds

While Costco does not fill my raw cashew needs, they manage to answer all my other nut cravings and requirements, and again they do it at prices that consistently beat grocery stores, even those with bulk bins. Kirkland almonds, pecans, walnuts and pistachios are permanent residents on my Costco list. We’ve also gotten pine nuts and chia seeds there (prohibitively expensive at the market, and they do keep just fine).

 photo IMG_0542.jpg  photo IMG_0537.jpg  photo IMG_0541.jpg

3) Grains and Beans

 photo IMG_0546.jpgOrganic brown rice at Costco rings in at 1.16 per pound. Costco also sells sprouted dried beans and organic quinoa at better than grocery store prices.

4) Nut Butters While with the nut prices Costco has, I should really be making my own nut butters, I confess that I don’t. This is one place where I let convenience win the day. Kirkland brand organic peanut butter is a staple in our house. We’ve recently been pleased to also find organic almond butter, both at substantially lower prices than I can find them in the market.  photo IMG_0526.jpg  photo IMG_0528.jpg

5) Pantry Staples  photo IMG_0534.jpg

This is the category for a miss-mosh of ingredients that we buy at Costco and that we’ve found to be higher quality, and less expensive, than any of our other local options. Our Costco pantry staples include: Kirkland maple syrup, Kirkland extra virgin olive oil, dijon mustard, and Kirkland balsamic vinegar.

6) Beverages  photo IMG_0519.jpg

While we no longer buy most of the packaged beverages offered at Costco, we do enjoy the screamin’ deals on snooty coffee. If you are a whole bean coffee purchaser, you should check their prices out. We also occasionally take advantage of sales on coconut water.

7) Bread  photo IMG_0508.jpg

We have had a good experience with whole grain sandwich bread at Costco and have also occasionally enjoyed the gigantic stack of whole wheat tortillas that they sell for the same price as a dinky grocery store package.

8) Better Junk While we typically eschew junk food, the occasional whole grain tortilla chip goes a long way toward limiting the sense of overwhelming deprivation that can consume my kids. Costco has great prices on a few items that I would categorize as better junk. We typically buy one of these for gatherings or vacations and enjoy the leftovers.

 photo IMG_0505.jpg  photo IMG_0502.jpg

So there you have it, the bulk of my permanent Costco list on my phone (which the children now read and manage in a very dictatorial fashion, much to my chagrin). One of the biggest barriers to healthier eating is the cost of high quality ingredients. If you already have a Costco membership, check out these amazing deals. If you don’t have one, but are now tempted, consider giving it a try – or touring the store and doing the personal calculation of whether or not it makes sense for you, or for you and a friend. I am staring at that picture of chips as I write this… I am weak in the face of chips. Hope you are all having a glorious summer and if you are already a huge box store shopper, what are your favorite healthy (or healthier) deals?

19 responses

  1. I keep hearing about the goodies available at Costco and well, it really bums me out! We only have Sam’s Clubs here and while the produce is generally outstanding, the staples/pantry items leave something to be desired.

    • You should probably take them a list of the items you like Annie – maybe they would listen! Even better, if you have some like-minded friends and neighbors. Certainly Sam has an interest in keeping up with The Costcos?

  2. Pingback: New Nostalgia – Anti-Procrastination Tuesday

  3. Almond butter at Costco has become a rare find and gone up in price. Instead, I buy a 2 lb bag of slivered almonds, toss them in my Ninja Pro, and whirl away until I have almond butter.

  4. Pingback: Fabulously Frugal Thursday Linky Party #77

  5. Pingback: Healthy Game Day Snacks | my sister's pantry

  6. This is a great guide! I’m bummed that my local Costco has not had almond butter the last two times I went. I may have to buy the almonds and make my own.

    If you have Gordon Food Service stores in your area, they typically have an even lower price on pecans than Costco. They also sell 5-pound bags of whole-wheat pasta at a great price. No membership or minimum purchase is required.

  7. We just took advantage of a coconut water sale there last week! I like the prices on their fresh organic spinach, organic apples, frozen fruit, and canned vegetables. Since my house is just my husband and I, we rotate what we buy in bulk. Great list!

  8. Costco just got in our area last November and we ‘traded’ our Sam’s Club membership for Costco’s. I’ve shopped there only once. I guess it’s great for large families, but two of us can eat that much produce before it goes bad. Buying other products in bulk is great though. Thanks for sharing at Thursday Favorite Things!

  9. I thought I was the only one who has overstimulation issues in stores like this. We don’t have Costco–only Sam’s. But the tips you’ve shared here cross over.
    Thank you for linking!

  10. Pingback: New Nostalgia – Anti-Procrastination Tuesday

  11. My new favorite at Costco is Avocado Oil. It’s organic, and for a large bottle is just under $10. I love using this in any bland oil needs, or high temperature cooking or stir fry.

Leave a comment