2 Ingredient Yum

What if you could mix 2 healthy ingredients in your food processor or super blender and end up with something that passes for a treat…. for dessert…. for fudge???

Well, my first question was, “Why didn’t I think of that?”  But I am so glad that the smart woman at Whole Food Simply did.   We have touted some other plant based / healthier varieties of fudge in the past, including holiday fudge which is more complex and a bit more work.  For fast and simple, you can’t beat….

2 ingredient Caramel Fudge (shared from Whole Food Simply)

1 cup tahini

1 cup medjool dates

Okay, okay I put about 1/4 tsp of salt in there…. but it wasn’t in the original and that hardly counts as an ingredient!

Blend together.  I used a food processor but the author used a Vita Mix type power blender.

P1010169

P1010172

Press into a parchment lined loaf pan.

Freeze (covered – with more parchment or wax paper

Cut once firmer and store covered in the freezer or frig if you like it softer.

P1010175

A note on the dates:  they must be relatively soft to make this mix happen.  If you are down to the last cup of dates from a large bag and they are a little less than pliable, try my method for re-hydrating without losing too much of the flavor and sweet.  Place the dates in a plastic bag with 1 teaspoons of water.  Squeeze the extra air out and leave the bag lying on it’s side in the frig with the dates spread out for a couple of days – flipping the bag over occasionally.  Voila!  You can add more water if it’s not working.

P1010165

Please note the dots of green smoothie on the counter…. I think that was kale, grapes, banana and almond milk.  Very good – even better followed by a piece of fudge 🙂

Do you have any 2 or 3 ingredient recipes that are surprisingly good?

23 responses

  1. Yum! Tahini is one of the few nut/seed butters I tolerate, so I’ll have to give this a shot! I can’t think of many great recipes with only 2 or 3 ingredients…I tried those banana/egg pancakes going around for a while, but I always needed to add oatmeal and various spices to get them to taste the way I liked. Thanks for posting!

    • You are welcome Lauren! And tahini is so good for you too 🙂 I missed the banana egg pancake thang – can’t say I’m sorry!! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. have you ever tried banana ice cream? Just slice a good banana (not overripe) into half inch chunks, freeze for an hour & then put in the processor until smooth. It literally tastes like ice cream!!

    • Interestingly I have never tried that with just banana! I usually add nut milk and perhaps some other fruit or peanut butter (or occasionally chocolate sauce). I bet it is much thicker with just the banana! I’ll have to try it. Thanks!

    • I have made this twice and both times I had to soak my old dried dates (I know – a personal problem) The second time I used more water than I intended to re-hydrate and as a result the fudge was much more damp… and it would have been smart of me to think of putting some cocoa powder in! Go for it and please tell us what happens!

  3. Pingback: healthy vegan friday #69- a whole lotta sweets - the veggie nook | the veggie nook

  4. Pingback: Healthy Vegan Recipes for the Fall

  5. Pingback: healthy vegan friday #69- a whole lotta sweets - the veggie nook | the veggie nook

  6. This recipe with dates looks delicious! Thank you so much for taking the time during this busy season to share your wonderful post with Full Plate Thursday. Have a wonderful weekend and hope to see you again real soon!
    Miz Helen

  7. Pingback: Healthy 2day Wednesday

  8. Pingback: Healthy2Day Wednesday {130} - Whole Intentions

  9. Pingback: Healthy 2day Wednesday Week 127 | — Young Living Oil Lady | A Christian Homeschool Mom with a Passion for Healthy Living

  10. Pingback: My Best Chocolate Chip Cookie (and it’s GF!!) | my sister's pantry

  11. Pingback: Healthy Vegan Friday #69: Busy Fall Days - Clean Eating Kitchen

Leave a comment