Leftovers Transformed – Pot Pie Palooza

I’ve had this idea brewing for a little while… a pot pie that I could eat (given my dietary predilections). Well, okay, I’ve been thinking about pot pie generally for a VERY long time. When I was in high school my Mom would occasionally offer up a Mrs. Budd’s pot pie from the grocery store. High times indeed. I have long been smitten with the pot pie.  I was reminded by my husband that while pregnant with the twins pot pie was one of a very few foods I actually made him go procure for me at strange times (pineapple and watermelon were some of the others). Even now that I don’t eat a lot of what goes into most pot pies, I can still be brought to a slow drool (attractive, right?) with a picture of a pot pie (as a good friend in Boston who can attest to – she unknowingly tortured me with a photo from Harrow’s Chicken Pies, but I digress).

The lovely thing about being somewhat obsessive about pot pies is that a passable pie crust is not nearly as hard as everyone would have you believe, and let’s face it, the crust is really a good part of what awesome pot pie is all about. So yesterday I decided to throw Ms. Picky Pants a bone and construct the perfect pot pie for my daughter with the delicate palate – pre-appproved foods only in this baby. A quick look around the fridge provided the ingredients list (the benefits of cooking extra felt once again). So here it is, my leftovers pot pie!

Pantry Pot Pie

Preheat oven to 350. Prepare pie crust (recipe below).  Oil pie dish, or smaller oven safe containers (little people like little foods – it’s a fact).  Place lentil casserole in dish to about 1/2 of the way full.  Top with layer of peas.  Top with sprinkling of cheez.  Roll out pieces of pie crust until about 1/8th of an inch thick (no I didn’t measure and neither should you for pity’s sake).  Pinch edges of crust into dish.  Brush top with a little olive oil if your crust looks dry.  Bake on middle rack for around 40 minutes or until some filling is bubbling up and the crust has browned slightly.  We served ours with a salad that included the first lettuce harvest of the year.  Delish, and darned if that little girl didn’t eat almost as much as I did!

IMG_9166

IMG_9169 IMG_9168

* Easy Vegan Savory Pie Crust adapted from Little House in the Suburbs’ Perfect Pie Crust

  • 2 1/4 c whole wheat pastry flour – spoon measured (not scooped directly out of bag or container)
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/2 c olive oil
  • 1/4 c alt milk (I used unsweetened coconut)

Place flour and salt into a mixing bowl and stir to combine.  Measure out olive oil and milk (use the same container, but don’t mix them).  Pour the liquid into the dry and stir to combine.  I usually ditch the spoon and work with my hands once the flour is mostly incorporated.  Knead a little to be sure flour is absorbed.  Roll out dough as per the containers you’re using, rolling in a pattern so that you’re not just rolling in one direction.  I go top to bottom, left to right, diagonal, diagonal until it’s the thickness I want.  Easy Peasy.

So what’s this palooza business? You might be wondering?  Here’s what I’m thinking.  I did mine with lentil rice casserole, but maybe you don’t have that in your fridge.  Maybe you have other leftovers, so I thought I’d suggest a few other combinations for a bit of a pot pie extravaganza – or for those of us of a particular generation – a pot pie palooza.

Mexican Pot Pie

Veggie Barley Pot Pie

Walnut Apple Pot Pie

  • Waldorf Saute
  • Fresh finely chopped celery
  • Cheez or cheese
  • Easy Vegan Savory Pie Crust

I’m sure you see where I’m going here.  What could you put in yours?  What’s in your fridge?  There’s a pot pie waiting to be born!

This post was shared at Wildcrafting WednesdayFabulously Frugal Thursday.

63 responses

  1. Inspiring post Lil Sis!! We Pot Pie Lovers know — it’s all about the crust, right? You’ve got me thinking about savory dinner pies and I’ll let you know what I come up with! I have an idea that has to do with Greek Salad of all things.

  2. I agree–it’s all in the crust. I craved pot pies when I was pregnant, too! 🙂 Thanks for including your recipe at Foodie Friday.

  3. You’ve tapped into my Pot Pie love! Why did I never think of using leftovers this way?! Pop a crust on there and yum. (I used to love Stouffer’s Chicken Pot Pie, btw. Always burned the roof of my mouth on it, too…)

  4. Oh, these recipes sound soooo good! I will bet it’s a lot less fat and calories than my old standard Marie Callendar’s in the grocery freezer box. Certainly fewer chemicals! I will have to make several and freeze some for a rainy day! Thank you for sharing!

    • Thanks for the pin! And for stopping by! I got those mini loaf pans at Michael’s for holiday baking and they have been so useful. My daughter likes little food, so if I can miniaturize, I do. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Saturday Dishes BACON!! 5-11-13 / Call Me PMc

  6. Pingback: Simple Meals Friday | Natural Living Mamma

  7. Pingback: Simple Meals Friday #30 - Nourishing Simplicity

  8. Pingback: Natural | Simple Meals Friday

  9. Just wanted to let you know I finally got around to trying this with some leftovers (chicken/broccoli/mushroom casserole) & it was AMAZING. I added some broth & some a layer of lima beans, cheese and a homemade crust on top & it was soooo good. What a great post, thanks!

  10. Pingback: Weekly Meal Plan 2/23-3/1 | my sister's pantry

  11. Pingback: Magic Dairy Free Sauce and Gravy: It’s All About the Roux | my sister's pantry

  12. Pingback: Healthier Holiday Fare | my sister's pantry

  13. Pingback: Weekly Meal Plan 12/21-12/26 | my sister's pantry

Leave a comment